Board members

Jersey Electricity plc is the sole supplier of electricity in Jersey, serving 48,000 customers. It has been a public company since 1924 and has a main market listing on the London Stock Exchange.

The Company is owned by more than 300 shareholders, with the States of Jersey holding 62% of the ordinary share capital with the remainder being held by a range of institutional and private investors.

The Board is made up of a non-Executive Chairman, four other non-Executive Directors, Chief Executive and two other Executive Directors.

All non-Executive Directors are viewed as being independent with the exception of Mike Liston, who was formerly the Company's Chief Executive. Clive Chaplin is still regarded as independent even though he joined the Board in 2003.

Key to membership of committees:

A Audit Committee

N Nominations Committee

R Remunerations Committee

  • Geoffrey Grime
 Chairman (R/N)

    Geoffrey Grime
 Chairman (R/N)

    Geoffrey joined the Board in 2003 and became Chairman in 2008. He retired in 1999 as Chairman of Abacus Financial Services, a leading offshore trust company in which he played an instrumental role as one of its founders. A Chartered Accountant, his career in Jersey began in 1969 with Cooper Brothers & Co. and progressed to his appointment as Channel Islands Senior Partner of Coopers & Lybrand in 1990. He is currently the Chairman of EFG Offshore Limited and also holds many professional appointments as both director and trustee. In November 2002 he was elected as a Deputy in the States of Jersey and he retired from that position in December 2005. 

  • Chris Ambler
 Chief Executive (N)

    Chris Ambler
 Chief Executive (N)

    Chris was appointed to the Board as Chief Executive on 1 October 2008. He previously held a number of senior international positions in the global utility and materials sectors for major corporations, including ICI/Zeneca, the BOC Group and Centrica/British Gas as well as corporate finance and strategic consulting roles. He is Chairman of Channel Islands Electricity Grid Limited. Chris is a Chartered Engineer and has a First Class Honours Degree from Queen's College Cambridge and a MBA from INSEAD.

  • Martin Magee 
Finance Director

    Martin Magee 
Finance Director

    Martin joined the Board as Finance Director in May 2002. He moved from Scottish Power plc, after nine years in a variety of senior finance roles. He previously worked for nine years with Stakis plc (now part of the Hilton Hotels Group). He is Chairman of Jersey Deep Freeze Limited and a Director of the Channel Islands Electricity Grid Limited. Externally, he is also the non-Executive Audit Committee Chairman for AIM listed Stanley Gibbons plc and a non-Executive Director of the Standard Life Offshore Strategy Fund Limited. He was also a member of the Jersey Public Accounts Committee until 2011. He is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland having qualified in 1984.

  • Mike Liston OBE
 Non-Executive Director (N)

    Mike Liston OBE
 Non-Executive Director (N)

    Mike joined Jersey Electricity in 1986 as Chief Engineer and became Managing Director in 1993. Retiring as Chief Executive in 2008. He previously held a number of senior posts in the United Kingdom's Electricity Supply Industry. He is Chairman of AIM listed, Renewable Energy Generation Limited, and Chairman of Jersey Post. Mike is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology where he has served on its Council, Audit and Disciplinary Committees. He is a Companion of the Chartered Management Institute and past Chairman of its Jersey Branch. He was until 2010, Chairman of the Jersey Appointments Commission. Mike was awarded an OBE in 2007. He is Chairman of the Nominations Committee.

  • Aaron Le Cornu
 Non-Executive Director (A/R)

    Aaron Le Cornu
 Non-Executive Director (A/R)

    Aaron was appointed to the Board in January 2011. Aaron is currently Group Finance Director for Ogier. Prior to that appointment, he held a number of senior positions within HSBC, latterly as the Deputy CEO of HSBC International. During his 10 years with HSBC, he held a number of Board positions for HSBC subsidiaries and was also involved in acquisitions and setting up Greenfield retail banking operations in Central Europe. Aaron is a Chartered Accountant, having qualified with and worked for Andersen for eight years. He also has First Class Honours Degree in European Management Science from Swansea University.

  • Clive Chaplin
 Non-Executive Director (A/R)

    Clive Chaplin
 Non-Executive Director (A/R)

    Clive joined the board in 2003. He originally trained as a solicitor in London and later, following his move to Jersey, was admitted as a solicitor of the Royal Court, Jersey. He was a partner of Ogier advocates and solicitors between 1994 and 2012, and was, immediately before his retirement from that firm, the chairman of the Ogier Group. He remains chairman of Ogier Fiduciary Services Holding Company Limited and now of Ogier Fund Services, a division within that business. He is also a director of a number of other companies operating in the financial sector and is Chairman of the Jersey Law Commission. He is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.

  • John Stares
 Non-Executive Director (A/R)

    John Stares
 Non-Executive Director (A/R)

    John joined the Board in May 2009. He was appointed Chairman of JT Group in June 2013 after serving as non-Executive Director since 2007. He is a non-executive Director of Terra Firma and recently completed a 10-year term as the Managing Director of Guernsey Enterprise Agency and five-year terms as a non-executive Consultant to the Ogier Group and a non-executive Director of Aurigny Airlines. Before moving to Guernsey in 2001, John was with Accenture for 23 years. During that period, he worked as a strategic, financial, change and IT consultant with major clients in most industry sectors and during his 15-year tenure as a partner held a wide variety of leadership roles in Accenture's Canadian, European and Global consulting businesses. He is Chairman of Governors of More House School, a Trustee of the Arts and Islands Foundation and a former President of Rotary Guernesiais. John is a graduate of Imperial College London, a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England & Wales and a Member of the Worshipful Company of Management Consultants.

  • Peter Routier Company Secretary

    Peter Routier Company Secretary

    Born in 1962, Peter Routier joined the Company in 1986. He was educated at Dauntsey's School in Wiltshire and gained an Honours Degree in Engineering from Surrey University. He qualified as a Chartered Secretary in 1990, and became a Fellow of the Institute in 2003. He was appointed to his current position in 1996. As well as being Company Secretary for Jersey Electricity, Channel Islands Electricity Grid and Jersey Deep Freeze, Peter is also responsible for the administration of the Company's pension scheme and for the Company's property portfolio, comprising the Queens Road site and a number of residential properties. Peter is also the manager responsible for the Information Technology and Internal Audit sections.